• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    November 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Verses for Lurkers

Some of you are thinking that memorizing a verse a week sounds like too big of a commitment. Plus you’re thinking “I’m too busy” and “My brain power is as slow as a dial-up connection these days.” Or maybe you already have the whole Bible memorized (I did have one friend in college who might fit in this category. He loved to randomly insert Bible verse annotations in his conversations like this “Well, my argument is obvious. Just think about Matthew 6:3 and Romans 9:31.” He only did this when he was in a snotty mood. Anyway, I digress…) So I have a solution for you fretful lurkers. It’s a two part solution.
Part 1: Just try this out for a week or two. You don’t have to do it every week. Maybe you could sign up once a month. Or maybe in between holidays. Choose what fits your timeline. But don’t be afraid to sign up via the comments section. Even if you don’t have your own blog. No one is going to judge you (but seriously, get a blog already… it’s really fun!). And if you have a hard time getting your verse down then try again the next week. I know I’m going to have a harder time than you in a few weeks (i.e. new baby + going back to work + the holidays = no time). But the more people that join in, the more fun we’ll have and the more accountability we’ll have. I promise to come clean on the weeks that I don’t know my verse. So don’t be embarrassed if that happens to you.
Part 2: For those of you who don’t think you can memorize a verse, I’ve listed several choices below in categories by word count. If you can’t memorize a two word verse in a week then you need to see a doctor. Seriously! C’mon people. Baby step with me here.

(I use the ESV so these word counts may differ slightly in other translations).

I will continue to add verses (in various technicolors) as I come across them. You’re more than welcome to suggest a few in the comments section.

two words: John 11:35, 1 Thessalonians 5:16,
three words: 1 Thessalonians 5:17
four words: 1 Thessalonians 5:25
five words: 1 Thessalonians 5:19
six words: Matthew 9:7, 1 Thessalonians 5:22, 1 Timothy 5:3
seven words: Matthew 7:1, Psalm 18:1
eight words: Ephesians 5:1, Luke 1:46
nine words: Psalm 61:1, 1 Corinthians 11:1
ten words: 1 Corinthians 8:3, 2 Timothy 4:22

Check out Proverbs for lots of verses in the 15 word range. I look forward to seeing your choices!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

