• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    July 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Easy to make … but it tastes so good

After Bri was born, and the nurses in the hospital assured me fifty times that I was ready to take her home, the overwhelming newness of motherhood crashed down on me. During that time, when I was chained to the rocking chair for Bri’s marathon feeding sessions, my friends from church were a God-send. They brought meal after meal, and we were oh-so-grateful. Hubster enjoyed the freedom of being a food critic, for a change. He’s learned that if he wants me to do the cooking, he’d better not offer any criticism. Even if it is “constructive.” Anyway, our favorite meal, hands down, was this Chicken Pot Pie. It tastes so good that I was actually afraid to ask for the recipe. Usually, these things are too difficult to be worth the effort. Imagine my surprise when I found out there were only FOUR ingredients!

Here’s the recipe, and believe me it’s fabulous.

1 package of ready made pie crusts

2 cans of veg-all (but I prefer to use 1 bag of frozen mixed veggies – I microwave them)

2 cans of cream of chicken soup (the 98% fat free kind actually tastes BETTER – it’s the right texture – trust me on this)

4 medium sized chicken breasts

If you use frozen, boneless skinless chicken breasts, then you can boil them for about 20 minutes (until it’s white all the way through). (Chicken that contains bones will probably need to boil for about an hour).

Let your cooked chicken cool and then use kitchen shears to cut it into bite sized pieces. Mix the veggies, chicken and soup together in a medium bowl. Put one of the pie crusts in the bottom of the pan and LEAVE the excess. Add the chicken mixture. Place the other pie crust on top and smush the excess from the bottom over the top layer of crust. (You want a nice thick edge, because it’s yummy.)

Visit this link for more WFMW recipes!

Bake at 375 degrees (F) for 30-40 minutes with aluminum foil covering the pie. Then, remove the foil, and continue baking for another 30-40 minutes. Let it cool for about 10 minutes before serving.

Thanks for visiting! Let me know how it turns out.

http://www.citystreams.wordpress.com

2 Responses

  1. My SIL makes this and has even used the canned chicken. Still yummy if you need another shortcut.

  2. Wow- this sounds super yummy, and I’ve been looking for a chicken pot pie recipe for ages- I’ll have to try it. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

