• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    August 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

The One Where I’m a Bumbling Idiot

So today, I casually suggested that one of my students should vandalize the school. Of course I didn’t really think the comment all the way through before it was out of my mouth. It sounded more like this…

“Hey Brad. You’re so artistic with the words on your poster. Do you ever tag stuff? Ya know, with spray paint … like graffitti?”

He looked up at me with distrust. “Yeah. Sometimes.”

“I bet you’re really good at it. I’m impressed. I’ve been thinking for awhile that someone should spice up those ugly trailer classrooms outside. I wish the art classes would paint murals on them.”

More distrust comes from his eyes. He shifts uncomfortably.

“Yeah, but I guess your mom would not be a fan of that idea. Huh?”

“Definitely not!”

Later, in the parking lot I ran into his mom who also teaches at the school. I told her how artistic he seems to be from his projects. And then I jokingly relayed the conversation mentioned above. She was less than thrilled. By the end of the conversation, I felt like a heel. Her parting words were … “Great. Thanks for encouraging my son to get arrested.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.