• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    October 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Striving for Mediocrity

The last two weeks have caused a great upheaval in my daily routine. With Bri sick I missed a lot of work and even on the days when I went to work, I left as soon as possible to come home to her. During this topsy turvy time, I’ve realized that my most valuable (non-renewable) resource is my time. One dollar is equal to any other dollar but some minutes are worth far more than others. I want to be careful how I spend my time.

A few years ago my ambitions kept me running from one obligation to the next. I like to read my planner from 2005 because it’s so full that it’s almost like reading a journal. Like my youth pastor once said, “I can read but I can’t remember so I write things down.”

Nowadays I find myself trying to slow down. There are plenty of obligations that I could take on but they sound so burdensome to me. I want my afternoons free for walks in the park and ice cream dates with Hubs. I want to have time to push Bri in the swing and let Lilly chase a ball around the yard. Life tastes so much better when there’s time to stop and enjoy it. The same youth pastor was also fond of saying, “Beware the barrenness of a busy life.” As a teenager I never understood that quote. Time seemed endless back then. But as an adult that has become my new outlook on life.

How about you? Do you crave free time? Maybe I’m just suffering from autumn burn-out. Wouldn’t be the first time for me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.