• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    March 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Bri’s Dress Up Box

A couple of weeks ago, I rearranged some stuff in the living room and repurposed some storage containers. A cute green striped box became Bridoodle’s dress up box and was moved to her play area. Initially, she liked to open and close the heavy leather lid. Then she realized that the box could support her weight and she began climbing on top of it where she would perch like a frog.

bri's dress up box

Today she’s discovered that she can fit inside the box too! I wish that I could have captured those first few moments when she was grinning ear to ear sitting inside the empty box, but by the time I ran for the camera and came back, she was already moving along to another toy.

houdini  bri

Undaunted, I tackled her, scooped her up and plopped her back in the box. (Of course, the whole time I’m thinking that I’ll probably be fussing at her for doing this again in a few days, but I need that picture now, dang it!)

playful bri

Well, wouldn’t you know it, but she scrambled back out of the box so fast that all of my pictures were blurry. Lather, rinse, repeat. Of course, now it’s becoming a game. A tackling, tickling, squealing with laughter and trying to hop back out of the box fast kind of game. Not safe for the camera. So I did what any good mommy would do. I stuffed the box with toys and pillows so that she couldn’t get out!

stuck

And voila! Moment semi-captured. New game born.

*********************************************************************************

Another one of Bri’s favorite activities is to pull all of the DVDs off of the bottom three shelves. She can pull fifty down in the blink of an eye. (Yes, we’ve collected a LOT of movies over the years.) Only lately have I been able to reprimand her and instruct her to put them away. I think Hubs and I were both pretty shocked on Wednesday when I fussed at her for making this mess and she actually cleaned it up! Today, she’s had to do the clean-up herself twice!

**********************************************************************************

This afternoon we took Bri out to the front yard for a practice Easter egg hunt. She was very serious about collecting her eggs and placing them in her basket. The very last one seemed to tip the balance so that all of them fell out. She giggled gleefully and started over. Putting things away seems to be very fun in her world right now.

*********************************************************************************

Warning: This story may bother my two male readers. You can stop now. This is the last anecdote. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Bri has free reign of the house most of the time now. So when I’m home with her alone, I leave the bathroom door open in case something happens. I want to be able to hear her. This also means that she wanders in the bathroom while I’m busy. Frequently. She stands at my knee and chatters away. She doesn’t want to leave. So in order to get out of there, I have to finish up, which means using a tampon when Aunt Flo comes to call. Everytime I open the wrapper, she gets excited and starts saying, “Cheese?” and “Bite?” It always makes me giggle. “No, honey, this is not cheese. It’s not food.”

5 Responses

  1. This post is so cute and the last story really made me laugh! My daughter used to call my pads mommy’s diapers. lol

  2. Cheese?! That is hilarious!

  3. That would be very disappointing cheese indeed.

  4. Haha, I laughed out loud about the cheese! And the box is too cute with her halfway in it. She’s a precious!

  5. Our kids can get together and play 52 DVD pick-up! :)

    One of my favorite things about this age is that they do actually want to comply when you ask them to do something. (Unless of course they are playing the game of running away when you need to get clothes on their body!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

