• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    May 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Transition

Before I begin this story, I have to tell you a little background information about myself. You may already know this about me. In fact, I’m probably deluding myself to think that anyone who’s ever brushed across my little corner of the world could have blindly missed this facet of my personality. But I’m all about stating the obvious, so let me be straight up honest with you. I am a control freak planner by nature. My life has always contained a four year plan and lots of long term goals. Most of these plans hinge on other plans. However, I also have back up plans in case those plans don’t work out. In fact, if you want to play a really fun game, pick a year and I can tell you what I think should happen that year in the Streams world.

So let’s rewind to 2006. After swimming in a sea of depression, leaving medical school and bravely deciding to try my hand at teaching, I realized that I was not qualified to teach in the school district where Bridoodle will one day attend high school. I wasn’t even qualified to teach in that state! Rather than give up on the new dream, I’ve commuted across state lines for two and a half school years to teach and while there I worked to gain certification. The master plan has been to return to our state and teach in our district for the 2009-2010 school year.

By January, 2009 I’d gotten all of my ducks in a row. I’ve been networking with our local high school for the past few years. Everything looked hopeful for my transition this summer. And then the recession hit. Hard. The district went into hiring freeze mode. They laid off ten teachers from the high school where I wanted to teach. My cautious optimism fizzled.

Suddenly my plans for the whole year went cold. Hubs and I considered what we should do next. And by “Hubs and I” what I really mean is that I whined, complained, griped and he listened.

Why did it matter, you ask? Well, besides the obvious answer that I am a control freak ahem, a planner, it also would offset our baby plan. We wanted to wait until I’ve settled into a new school for at least a year before we start trying to have another kiddo.

And ya know, I’d like to have the next kiddo sometime before Bridoodle is a teenager.

So that’s about the time I got a really bad case of the baby bug. You might have noticed. Hubster got sick of me pestering him about it, but he was very patient with me. Neither of us felt like we were quite ready to jump on that bandwagon just yet. So we waited. Or I should say, Hubster waited and I agonized.

A month passed. I discovered a dark room hidden behind my classroom. I explored the possibility of teaching simple photography to my science students. I started to get really excited about staying at my current school. Things seemed a little brighter. I grew content in my situation.

And then I got a phone call, two weeks ago. Our local high school had an unexpected job opening. Would I be available for an interview? My heart leaped into my throat. Of course!

The interview process was so much fun. At one point I had five different schools interested in me. Two schools were sort of fighting over me. My phone seemed to be ringing off the hook!

On Friday, May 23rd I was offered the job that I’ve been pining for since 2006. I joyfully accepted the position.

I feel a lot like a kid at Christmas. My parents used to spend months convincining me that the present that I really, really wanted would be too expensive or too hard for Santa to transport. Year after year, I went from hope to discouragement to contentment and then on Christmas morning, I always found that gleeful surprise.

So here I am with a shiny new job and I’m so excited! I can’t wait to see what comes of the next year. It’s going to be a really fun transition.

11 Responses

  1. Congratulations on the new job! That is so exciting!! So happy to see how it has fallen into place for you.

  2. congrats!

  3. p.s. all this baby stuff better be leading somewhere! :-)

  4. That’s awesome news! I love it when a plan comes together! Congratulations!

  5. Oh yay! God is so good! :)

  6. Wow! Way to go! That’s awesome :)

  7. Congrats! that rocks! very happy for you!

  8. Congrats friend! I’m so happy for you!

  9. Mazel tov! I can not wait to hear more about the new teaching job :) BTW – I love the age difference with my boys (my brother and I are also the same). It worked nicely when our plans were changed for different reasons.

  10. This is such great news, Cindy! Isn’t it amazing how things eventually fall into place? I am thrilled for you!

  11. Yay! I’m so very happy for you. That is wonderful news!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

