• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    July 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

My Bags are Packed …

I’ll be heading to Chicago in a few days. There’s this little shindig there, called BlogHer. You might have heard of it. Part of me is ecstatic, but that part of me is being held hostage by the part that’s terrified. I’ve pretty much convinced myself that after this trip I will NEVER, EVER again leave my baby girl’s side. She’d better enjoy this break from me, because for the next sixteen years, I plan to be stuck to her like a bump on a log. (We can even wear matching dresses to the prom!) This trip will be a milestone for us. I’ve never been away from her for so long before. FIVE whole days.

She’ll be staying with Nana and Poppy. I know that my parents will spoil her rotten and that she’ll have a blast. She’ll get to stay up late and eat M&M’s. That part is okay. I love the fact that she has adoring grandparents.

I’m just afraid of all of the “what ifs.” Those tiny worries start to add up when you plan a trip six months in advance. I have a slew of them stashed in the back corners of my brain. What if she chokes on an M&M? What if her cold turns into something serious with a fever of 104F? What if she throws tantrums in public when Mom goes to the store? It’s been really difficult to push those worries aside so that I can trust God to take care of her. In the deepest core of me, I feel that I am solely responsible for her safety.

I know that it’s a ludicrous thought. I know things could go wrong under my watch just like anybody else’s. But like Nemo’s dad, I feel the need to promise that “nothing will ever happen to [her].” I feel the need to be humming in the next room or sitting in the chair beside hers at the table. I feel the need to be close.

I’ve talked myself out of going to this conference about a hundred times. And each time I come back full circle. Hubster often reminds me that I deserve this trip. There are lots of reasons to go. It will be good for everyone involved. Staying home would be selfish and wasteful.

So I’m going to go. I’ll be live-blogging from the mommy-blogger sessions. I’ll be passing out blog cards, meeting friends in real life for the first time and sticking my foot in my mouth. I can’t wait for the photo walk and some of the geek-out sessions. There are souvenirs to purchase and swag bags to haul back up to our room. It’s going to be fun.

But I think my favorite part will be coming back home. My bags are already packed.

5 Responses

  1. Oh, girl-I’m so happy for you! What a wonderful opportunity. However, I do feel your pain. I agonize about leaving my baby girl for AN HOUR so that I can exercise. I am already planning and unplanning a trip that B and I might take without her in JANUARY. So, I’ll be praying for you about this separation. I know that, in the end, it’ll be good for all involved. At times like these I have to remind myself that she is the Lord’s and He is her protector and sustainer, even when she’s *safe* in my arms!

    Love you and can’t wait to hear about your trip!

  2. I hope you have fun! I wish I could be there. Chicago is closer to me too.

    I’m sure Bri will do great with your mom and dad. I would be feeling the same way you are though.

    We call my dad Poppy and my mom is Nonna. I called my dad poppy growing up and was excited when my kids started calling him that too. You are the only other person that I know that uses that name.

    Can’t wait to hear about your trip.

  3. Have a fabulous time! I am so jealous, but will enjoy reading everything you blog while away.

    I know how hard it is to leave the little ones for the first time. Of course, I must admit I have not been away from the little dude since he was born. Hubby and I hope to go on a “weaning moon” in the not too distant future since we never went on a “baby moon” when pregnant.

  4. Sounds like you’ve got a great trip planned. Enjoy yourself!

  5. Hey! I hope you have fun! Eat some good deep dish Chicago pizza for me! Sounds like it’s gonna be a great time. Like your new header by the way!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

