• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    December 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

the worst day ever

On Friday I had two parent teacher conferences that turned ugly. I basically had four adults that day who told me that I don’t deserve my job. It was the worst day I’ve ever had as a teacher.

So today I’m taking a mental health day. And considering other careers.

4 Responses

  1. Are they teachers? Have they spent time in your classroom? What the hell do they know????

    They’re trying to blame you because their kids are failing. It’s not your fault. You can only put the info out there – it’s up to the kids whether or not they take it in.

    I left teaching (because I hated every minute of it!) but please don’t let these people force you out of your chosen career. If your administration is giving you good reviews, you’re doing fine. Don’t let people who wouldn’t last 5 minutes in a classroom full of kids tell you what you can and can’t do!

  2. Ugh, did I ever share the horrid e-mail that I received from a family once? It was vile and the school almost hired me a lawyer. There are always parents that feel they can try to intimidate teachers into giving their child grades they do not deserve. Do not let them get you down. If you ever need to have any dealing with them again be sure to have another person present from school. If you need me to chat – you know where to find me. Hugs coming your way.

  3. What!?? I am righteously indignant on your behalf. I’ve taught middle-schoolers, and I know how trying even the best kids can be day after day after day after day. I would take their words with a grain of salt.

    Sending prayers up for you right now.

  4. when i had horrid days like that, i would have fantasies of having a job as a ditch digger. All I had to do was dig and not worry about abouts parents, people, consumers….anyone….A job I didn’t have to take home with me. Ahh….so sweet!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

