• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    August 2005
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Carmen ~ Live and in Concert!

My favorite roommate from college came up to go to a concert with me last night! We had so much fun although we had to take nose-bleed seats. When I was eight years old, my mom loved to listen to Carmen tapes. And I can still sing “Lazarus, Come Forth” and “Yahweh.” Melissa got saved at a Carmen concert about the time that my family moved and stopped listening to him. So it was fun to see which songs she knew that I didn’t and vice versa. I was disappointed that he didn’t sing “Lazarus” or the song about the witch. Those are my two all time favorites. Surprisingly, he said a few things that made me think, too. One of his big points between songs was the fact that “God inhabits the praises of His people.” I had heard the verse before but it struck a new chord with me. I realized that it’s really been along time since I truly worshipped God. It seems that going to church has become more of a routine and less of a time to offer up my devotion. In college there were several arenas where real worship was possible and looking back at those times I get a little nostalgic. I remember singing my heart out to “Jesus I am Resting” at the BSU and standing in line for communion with several hundred silent people at 7:22 while we reverently spent time in the Lord’s presence. And I also remember singing while I did chores as a teenager and feeling close to God despite the raging craziness of life. It was always about my heart attitude. When I chose to lay down my anger or my busy-ness and focus on the greatness of God I could truly worship and I could indeed feel His nearness. Last night I came much closer than I’ve been in a long time. My time with God has frankly dwindled down to nothing over the last year and a half. I wonder if that might reflect the amount of time I’ve spent praising Him (which has also dwindled proportionately). I want to find new ways to praise Him again.
2 Responses

  1. I appreciate your epiphany. Many times I realize that I ignore God too often. I think, though, that you shouldn’t rate the quality of your devotion on the emotional intensity of your experience. A relationship with God is like any relationship, sometimes it’s at an emotional high point, and sometimes it’s just checking in to see how your day went. Except, you know, God doesn’t get sick of you or mad for petty reasons or some other things that people do.

  2. Thank you so much for reminding me of “Jesus I Am Resting” and that crazy night of getting lost on the way to 722 only to end up there for the most amazing communion at the end. “Here I raise mine Ebenezer/Hither by Thy help I’m come/And I hope by Thy good Pleasure safely to arrive at Home…”

Leave a Reply

