• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    November 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Sunday Ponderings

Today was the first time that we’ve left our Bridoodle in the nursery at church. In the past we’ve toted her around everywhere we went and usually I would have to dart away to feed her in the middle of the lesson. So it was a really special and unnerving experience. It’s amazing how distracting it is to have your child with you in a social setting. I was constantly sitting on the edge of my seat anxiously awaiting her next lusty cry. Because I do that everyday, it didn’t really bother me. But sitting in the service today, holding Hub’s hand and singing some really moving songs was like a religious experience. I mean seriously, it was like a date! Not a normal married date, either. But one of those electrical, I- can’t- believe- we’re- finally- alone- by- ourselves, kind of dates. Like we had when we first started dating.

In addition to the thrill of being footloose and fancy free, I found that I could concentrate on the lessons so much better. The sermon and our Sunday school message really flowed into each other so that it seemed like one continuous lesson. The subject for both was looking ahead to tomorrow. The sermon dealt with expecting amazing things from the Lord (Joshua 3:5) and the Sunday school lesson dealt with not being anxious (Matt. 6:25).

I tell ya what, both of these topics were meant for me. It’s difficult to expect amazing things from the Lord. It requires faith and makes you feel foolish in front of your peers. Can you imagine how Noah and Joshua and David must have felt when they were given such amazing visions of what was to come? I bet they were scared to death! The verse in Joshua tells us to consecrate or commit ourselves to the Lord so that we can be a part of the amazing things to come. As a new parent I’ve really been convicted that I should be more committed to the Lord. Instead I seem to be self-reliant and very anxious. I want to do everything myself instead of waiting for the perfect timing of God. Today I was reminded to trust God with the safety of our family and to commit to serving Him in the plan He has for us knowing that He has something amazing up ahead.

One Response

  1. I really appreciated this! I am definitely an anxious person by nature. I know that God tells us in the Bible not to be anxious, but it’s really hard…!! Of course, God also probably only reveals to us as much information (even visions of things to come) as He knows we need and can handle… That’s a comfort right there!

    Thanks for participating in this week’s Sunday Ponderings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

