• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    April 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Night Time Routine … Works For Me

Not too long ago, I was a brand new Mama desperate for a whole night’s sleep. I remember the bleary eyes and the utter exhaustion. I learned quickly that in order to get enough sleep I needed to go to bed as early as possible. So we started going to bed at 8pm and getting up throughout the night. When 6 am rolled around we found ourselves lucky to have had 4 hours of uninterrupted sleep. Sleep came in chunks. And that was okay. When Bri had her four month check up, the doctor told us to start thinking about solid foods. Our daycare workers gave us one excellent tip for introducing solid foods – always use a spoon. Apparently one of the toddlers never transitioned to solids because his parents put his cereal in his bottles at a very young age. He refused to take the spoon when he got older.

When Bri was five and a half months old we finally started feeding her rice cereal every night. And we quickly fell into a fabulous night time routine. We feed her a solid meal at 6:30pm (now she’s eating cereal, fruits and vegetables). Then she takes a bath. And we put her to bed by 8pm. Sometimes earlier! If she fusses for more than fifteen minutes in bed then I give her a bottle too. That always knocks her out. She sleeps until 7 am! It’s amazing!

We have time to ourselves in the evening AND we have time to get ready for work in the morning. I love the night time routine! It definitely works for me!

For more WFMW tips visit:

7 Responses

  1. 1. I am glad that routine works for you…but I hope you know how blessed you are to have a seven-month-old baby who sleeps through the night! 🙂

    2. That photo of Bri is precious.

    3. I finally get the name of your blog! Was that verse always there and I just never noticed it, or is it part of the new design?

    4. I like the new design!

  2. 1. I know, right! I felt a ittle guilty for posting this as a WFMW. I hope it didn’t come across as bragging.
    2. Thanks!
    3. The verse was always there, but the new design put it all in capital letters.
    4. Thank you! (I’m blushing.)

  3. Great tips! My youngest just slept through the night for the first time last night. But, I think it is due to a cold, not any fabulous night time routine. Sigh.

  4. Love the new design…looks very “Cindy”. 🙂 Glad Bri’s feeling better(or appears to be feeling better)! Call us whenever you need us…we’ll be around for 75 more days!

  5. What a cutie!!

    Not all babies deal with cereal as first solid food at that age.

    I’m glad it worked for you.

    You can find out what works for me ::here::
    Have a wonderful day!

  6. What an awesome picture of Bri and it’s even more awesome that she is in a night time routine that works for you and the hubster. Lil Man had just gotten into a good night time routine and was sleeping through the night when we took off for a week at the beach last summer and God love his little soul he hasn’t slept through the night since. We’re hoping to get him back into a decent night time routine before the new baby arrives!!

  7. Looking forward to the day when we’ll have a reliable routine like that… right now, Sunshine goes down whenever I can get her asleep, but she’s starting to sleep for 5-hour stretches (heavenly!).

Leave a Reply

