• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    April 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Promised Quotes

I fully intended to post my favorite Anne Shirley quotes yesterday, but my fabulous Hubster was absolutely glued to the computer last night. Since that doesn’t happen too terribly often, and since my sinuses were stuffed to the brim giving me a headache, I decided I would wait. Without any further ado, I bring you my favorite quotes from Anne of Green Gables.

“It was the truth; every word you said was true. My hair is red and I’m freckled and skinny and ugly. What I said to you was true, too, but I shouldn’t have said it. Oh, Mrs. Lynde, please, please, forgive me. If you refuse it will be a lifelong sorrow to me. You wouldn’t like to inflict a lifelong sorrow on a poor little orphan girl, would you…”

And then – Thwack! Anne had brought her slate down on Gilbert’s head and cracked it – slate, not head – clear across.

“Marilla, isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”
“I’ll warrant you’ll make plenty in it,” said Marilla. “I never saw your beat for making mistakes, Anne.”

“But mostly when I’m with Mrs. Lynde I feel desperately wicked and as if I wanted to go and do the very thing she tells me I oughtn’t to do. I feel irresistibly tempted to do it…”

“We are rich,” said Anne staunchly. “Why, we have sixteen years to our credit, and we’re happy as queens, and we’ve all got imaginations, more or less…”

2 Responses

  1. I have not read the books, just seen the movies, and there is so much more descriptive prose than in the movie!!!

  2. These are my favorite books of all time! I still have my copies from when I was a girl.

Leave a Reply

