• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    May 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Flamebroiled Donuts

We went to Sunday School today with Hubster’s family. His dad teaches the class, and today the lesson was on choosing to please God when it means displeasing men. Specifically, the lesson was applied to a work situation where an employee must go against his boss’s wishes in order to please God. The text was taken from the book of Daniel, and it focused on Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego who refused to worship the statue of their boss, King Nebuchadnezzar.

Later, after Sunday School, during the offering in the service, I wrote a little note to Hubster. “Where was Daniel when his friends, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, were all thrown into the furnace?” I scribbled it quickly onto the paper, before passing it over to Hubs. He glanced at the note, pulled out his pen and immediately began writing his answer. Now, I’d puzzled over this question by myself for twenty minutes, so I was a little miffed that he knew the answer so quickly. I chalked it up to his private Christian school education and leaned over to read what he was writing. He shielded his answer with his hand as he continued and cast me a devious grin.

So I waited. Eventually, he finished chicken scratching on my church bulletin and I was allowed to read what he wrote:

“Daniel had to run down to the Krispy Kreme to get breakfast for his Sunday School class. He got back just as the fire was starting to die down.”

Two points for Christian school! Does anybody else have an answer?

3 Responses

  1. Haha! We totally did the donut runs when I was in Sunday School. If the Bible was set in modern times…

  2. Hubster assures me, now that he’s read this post, that NOBODY really knows the answer to my question. That’s why he was being a smart-aleck.

  3. As a matter of fact that same question came to me as I was preparing earlier in the week. A litle quick research showed no definitive answer as Daniel, who probably wrote the book with his name, left himself out of this episode. Best guess is that by this time, with Daniel in a high government position over a wide area (Dan. 2:48), he was out of the country on business for the king. I believe that the one thing that we can be sure of is, that if he was present for the dedication of the stature, he would not have bowed either.
    Hubster’s Dad

Leave a Reply

