• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

the door swings both ways

Today has been a day of good-byes and hellos. I had lunch today with my best friend, Emma. She’s about to move fifteen hours away. It was bittersweet.

We decided to visit Build-a-Bear after lunch. We made a teddy bear together and the plan is that we’ll share her. Hubs says I’m a total cheese ball for thinking of this. But Emma and I, well, we like being sappy. We’ve spent lots of nights eating popcorn and watching movies like Steel Magnolias and Pride and Prejudice together. These are things that a man just can’t understand.

So anyway, we named our bear Dawn. Because this is not the end, folks, it’s just the beginning. (Hubster is rolling his eyes.) And we plan to mail her back and forth to each other in care packages. We’ll take pictures of her wherever we happen to be at the time. And maybe dress her up to match. I’m so excited! Envision pictures of Bri and Dawn at the zoo.

So we fluffed up Dawn and then we had to put a heart inside her. They have all of these rituals that you’re supposed to do with the heart. You’re supposed to tap it to your forehead to make her smart and rub it in your hands to make her loving. Emma decided that I should be the ridiculous looking one, so she grabbed the camera and handed me the heart.

I think I’m rubbing it on my cheek so that she will always be smiling or something like that. I’m not quite sure what Emma did with my camera to give me three chins. Maybe she was fibbing when she said I looked “so much thinner” at lunch.

This bath station looked super cool, but it’s just a bunch of air coming out of the pipes. Apparently it’s there to keep the five year olds entertained. I thought it was pretty entertaining myself.

We picked out the most adorable little outfit for her. Including hair-bows and a matching purse. She looks so cute! And there’s a button on her paw that says, “Let’s go shopping!” We loved it!

On the way home, I heard this song, by Trace Adkins on the radio. I started to tear up as I sang along. “You’re gonna miss this. You’re gonna want this back. You’re gonna wish these days, hadn’t flown by so fast. These are some good times. So take a good look around. You may not know it now, but you’re gonna miss this.”

2 Responses

  1. That is sweet. I did that with a friend once too:)

  2. That’s sad about your friend! Hang in there.
    I’m so in love with the idea of a shared build a bear. I may just steal that when my bff comes back to school after I graduate.

Leave a Reply

