• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    August 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Cheesy Potato Casserole – the back story

For the Thanksgiving dinner at my parents house in 2007, I volunteered to bring smashed potatoes. When I arrived at my Mom’s house, I realized that I’d left all of the ingredients and the recipe and my brain back at my house, three hours away. Honestly, I don’t think anyone was surprised, because we were also toting our ten week old daughter, and all of her stuff.

So when Mama set the mystery casserole dish on the table, and told us that it was a new recipe, I assumed that she’d covered for me by making a potato casserole. I gave some prime Thanksgiving-plate real-estate to that casserole, and tucked a big bite in my mouth before passing it over to my cousin.

My mouth puckered in surprised confusion, as an assault of hot pineapple hit the senses. Blech. It was not what I’d imagined. The dim lighting had hidden the chunks of pineapple, making them look like chunks of potato. And the cheesy Ritz cracker crust had fooled me into expecting something salty. On the way to our next Thanksgiving celebration, a few hours later, I told Hubster that I wanted to make that Cheesy Potato Casserole that I’d envisioned.

The months have come and gone, but I’ve never forgotten that casserole. Tonight, I realized that I happened to have the ingredients needed, so I’ve tossed them together. It’s baking in the oven now, so I’ll have to let you know how it turns out. If it’s any good, I’ll post the recipe. If not, then I’ll spare you!

One Response

  1. I LOVE cheesy potato casserole! I definitely want the recipe if you liked it:)

Leave a Reply

