• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

I Don’t Get Paid Enough For This

The character building has continued for our family. Hubster started off the day with a flat tire on his patrol car. Five different officers stopped by to give him a hand and no one could get the thing off. So they had to call a tow truck. He’s having a rough day.

I had more flagline drama today. Disrespect has been a big issue and one of my girls forced my hand today. I gave her the whole … “You need to apologize or else” … spiel. She came back with the classic … “Or else what?!” and the little head snap that goes with that. “Or else you won’t be marching tomorrow.” Even gaze. Calm anger radiating out of my eyes.

“Yes I will.” Another head snap.

“No. You. Won’t.” Self-control. That’s my goal.

It did not end well, but the band director backed me up. He was not happy about the situation. She’s not allowed to participate at the game tomorrow. She cried. She yelled. She never apologized. The whole flagline is beyond angry. But the protesters backed down at the threat of having to sit out themselves. Tomorrow should be interesting. Did I mention that I only get paid fifty dollars extra per month to coach the flagline? Uh huh.

You took the words right out of my mouth.

3 Responses

  1. Oh my gosh. You really are having an awful week. Good for you for standing your ground! I hope she apologizes.

  2. (((hugs))) So sorry that the kids are treating you that way. There is no excuse for their behavior and they should have consequences. Good for you to nip it like that.

    I so know how you feel about awful pay for after school things. I stopped doing it once the boys were born. It just was not worth the aggravation, effort and time away from the family. Hopefully the girls will shape up and you will get more joy and lots less grief from them.

  3. Teenagers! I have worked with large groups of them myself and I know how hard it can be…but also how rewarding it can be. Hang in there. I will keep you and the flagline in my prayers!

Leave a Reply

