• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Twelve Short Months Ago

Dear Bri,

Tonight the memory of your birth comes flooding back to me. At around 7:30 pm that night, a year ago, my heart was pounding as the doctors and nurses prepped me for surgery. Your Daddy had to change into scrubs and I kept asking the nurses when he would be back. We’d already spent two days at the hospital but my body wasn’t ready to let go of you. So after thirty six hours of labor, everyone agreed that a c-section was needed. The medicine kept the pain away, but everything felt cold. When your Daddy finally came into the operating room, I knew everything was going to be alright. He held my hand the whole time.

That night I felt really sick from the medicine, so I didn’t get to see you. But the next morning, when I held you in my arms for the first time, you stole my heart. I never knew it was possible to love someone so much. My heart stretched just like the Grinch’s heart in the Dr. Seuss Christmas story. Your Daddy and I held you and took lots of pictures. Our family came to visit. It was really special.

I remember lying on the hospital bed watching TV with your Dad, while we talked about how blessed we both felt. You became the most important treasure we’d ever shared. Suddenly, we felt like the world was a big scary place that we had to protect you from. I remember the scary feeling of holding you as the nurse wheeled me down the sidewalk in the wheelchair.

These days you can stand up on your own and you crawl everywhere. You can open cabinet doors and you love to make your “iPod” play songs. At this very minute, you’re standing beside me while I sit on the couch, you’ve just pulled yourself up because you want to play on the computer too. We’ve watched you grow so much in the last year. It’s been an amazing journey. We can’t wait to see what your future holds.

I love you so much, baby girl.

Love,

Mommy

10 Responses

  1. Happy 1st Birthday Bri!!! I shall always remember her special day since I waited to hear word from you and my sister-in-law at the same time. How fitting that my niece and Bri share their birthdays together.

    Here is to many more happy and healthy years ahead 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday, you little cutie! Mimi and I remember the day you were born, as it was such a blessing to have you join our family.

    Love,
    Gampa

  3. Happy first birthday! What a very special time! She is just darling!

  4. Happy birthday to the little one! What an amazing little girl you have.

  5. Happy Birthday Bri!!!!

    That is such a sweet letter:)

  6. Happy Birthday, precious girl! We love you! Love, Aunt Holly

  7. What a beautiful birthday letter for a beautiful birthday girl!

  8. You two are so beautiful! Happy birthday sweet girl.

  9. Happy Birthday! It goes so fast! What a cutie!

  10. Sorry, I’m late. Happy Birthday!!!

    Wow, what a birth story!! And such dark hair! so sweet!

Leave a Reply

