• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

Feature Blogista – ComfortablyCrazy

It’s a pleasure to introduce today’s feature blogista. Heather, fondly known as CC, is a SAHM living in sunny SoCal. Don’t hate her for the nice weather she’s enjoying. You’ll love the way she tells her story. Her modesty exudes throughout her writing, but it’s quite clear that she has many talents. She’s extremely gifted with a sewing machine and knitting needles (selling all of  her Etsy items within hours of posting them). You’ll often find her gorgeous daughters, Superchic and Rapunzel running around with Annalie and Baby Bug. With company like that, there’s no doubt that this will be an entertaining family!

cc-take-3

Here goes nothing. Let’s start with the mundane, then move on to the more mundane shall we? My name is Heather and I blog as ComfortablyCrazy or CC for short.  I’m 30 years old as of December 2008.

Now my husband Shawn often makes me want to smack him upside the head but who doesn’t feel that way about their spouse every once in awhile?  Truthfully, I think he’s wonderful. We’ve been married for 11 1/2 years.  Shawn and I married approximately 5-6 weeks after we met and 3 weeks before I graduated from high school.  Yes, I said high school.  We conceived our first daughter Rapunzel sometime in the month of August 1997, we were married for three months at this point.  4 1/2 years, and four pregnancies later SuperChic was born,  I was 23 almost 24. Considering that we got married when I was 18 and he was 23 after knowing each other for about a month, most people are surprised we’re still together.  All I have to say is that my family has short engagements and long marriages.  We’re stubborn like that.

couple-take-3

As for work. I’ve worked at a few places in the last 11 1/2 years. I worked at a gas station for one day.  We were in a serious car accident the next day and I wasn’t able to work for three weeks.  I volunteered at our local library for a few months, then worked there as a Paige for a little over a year.  I volunteered at Bible Truth Publishers when Shawn worked there.  Sometimes I filled orders, wrapped orders, shipped orders, packaged tracts, and did miscellaneous stuff others didn’t really want to do.  I enjoyed it most of the time.   I worked as an “Office Girl” for a diesel repair shop.  Though truthfully “office girl” really doesn’t cover it.  After that I worked at Home Depot for 1 year and three days.  I quit to stay home with SuperChic who was having issues with my being away from home so much.  That was in May 2007.  I am officially a SAHM again.  Most times I love it.  Others I wish I was somewhere else.

I do have an Etsy shop which is in need of restocking.  I am working on it.  I enjoy sewing and knitting, but sometimes life gets in the way of that.

rapunzel-take-3

I wouldn’t say that I did anything to crazy when I was young.  I was too afraid of my Dad.  I remember going out trick-or-treating with my junior high friends. We had every intention of egging a friends house.  My Dad said, “Go ahead, but if you get arrested I’ll be there to get you in the morning.”  He was willing to let me have “fun” but I had to be willing to pay the consequences. Needless to say, we changed our minds.

My sophmore year in high school I went with my cousin to her cousin’s house.  Her parents were in Mexico and she had the house to herself.  (She was a junior and 17.)  We broke out the wine and tequila.  They called over a few guys.  Guys that I really didn’t like.  While we waited for the guys to get there they made a gallon of grape Kool-Aid and poured in some tequila thinking it would taste great.  It didn’t, but then I don’t like anything grape with the exception of fresh grapes.  I stuck to straight tequila.  When the guys got there I’d probably had about four shots worth.  They all drank the nasty mix.  One of the guys filled my cup with about 9 oz of tequila, said, ” give this to the litlle güerita;” and dared me to drink.  I drank it all; all at once.  20 minutes later he was throwing up and I was still standing.  We loaded him into the car with his friends. Then we started cleaning, and barely finished when my Dad and Aunt showed up.  They couldn’t even tell that we’d been drinking.  About two months later my cousin and her cousin got busted.  Apparently the wine they drank was what my cousin’s Aunt drank and she knew she’d just opened the bottle before she left.  I never got caught.  I still don’t think my Dad realizes that I was there and participated in what happened.superchic-take-3

Does that count as crazy?  I hope so, because once I got married my life was pretty tame.

I dated a guy in high school for two years. He might as well be dead. But if he was broken down on the side of the road I wouldn’t try to run him over.  It’s taken a long time for me to get to that point.

I haven’t done anything that I would consider a career yet.  My kids are my career right now.  Am I ok with that?  Mostly.  I knit, sew, read, and blog.  That gives me a little bit of an outlet.  One day I hope to teach, but that requires going back to school.  School terrifies me. I mean, have you seen the math the kids are doing now?

My Mom is doing ok.  She’s the Office Manager for a company that paints houses.  She’s good at her job and enjoys it.  Mom only cooks one thing now that she cooked when I was a little girl. I’m not complaining. All of the other recipes have evolved.

ccs-mom-take-3

Here’s the chili recipe:
2 pounds ground beef
1 8-ounce can tomato sauce
2 cups water
1 package Carroll Shelby’s Chili Kit
1 large can petite diced tomatoes
1 bulb chopped garlic
1 small onion
1 can kidney & pinto beans (really any bean you like in your chili)

toppings:
sour cream
cheese

Brown onions and garlic with meat. Follow directions on package of chili mix. Though we don’t use the masa, and instead of adding water I just use the juice from the canned tomatoes.

I started blogging in July 2004 on Blogger.  My sister-in-law, Secret-Agent-Josephine, had already been blogging for a few years and I figured, why not?  I like to write, and I’m not horrible at writing. Blogging helps my family keep up with the kids.

groupofbloggersandkids1

I never imagined that I’d have people other than family reading what I wrote.  Don’t ask how I came up with my name, because I don’t know.  Anyone who knows me knows that ComfortablyCrazy just fits.

I write mostly about my two girls, Rapunzel 10 1/2 and SuperChic 6.  Sometimes other things come up and I write about them.  When I sit down to write I never know what is going to come out.  I find that if I think too much about what I’m saying that it just doesn’t work.

I doubt I’ll be able to go to BlogHer ’09, but I really, really want to go.  I miss Chicago.  (We lived in Illinois from April 2001 to September 2005.)  Though I did attend BlogHer ’08 in San Francisco.

5 Responses

  1. […] the Featured Blogista over at CityStreams […]

  2. Great to read more about CC, thanks for featuring her! A great blogista to be sure, a fresh delight to read, always.

  3. I just love her!!!
    CC, you are amazing and so inspiring, I love the pic of you and Shawn, it got me all choked up and I just don’t even know why, I think it is the commitment you have to go on, awesome!!

  4. xoxox cc!

  5. Oh! I thought I’d commented here but I think I commented on CC’s post linking to this interview.

    Heather’s amazing, and I’m honored to call her my friend! Good choice for your third interview. 🙂

Leave a Reply

