• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    June 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

OMT Syndrome

I have a disease. My husband became aware of it about fourteen months after we started dating. On Halloween that year, I showed up for class at 8am and had an obligation that accounted for every hour of the day until 3am the next morning. I attended class, meetings, work, volunteered at the hospital, went to a BSU party and then met friends for a post-football game celebration. I drooped across his shoulder at the Waffle House while my old friends from high school told stories about me, and he patted me on the back. “I don’t know where you find the energy,” he said.

If left to my own devices, I tend to pack activities into my weeks like a fat kid piling goodies onto his plate at a church picnic. There’s always “one more thing” that I want to do and “one more thing” that I think I can squeeze in to my schedule. When I look at my schedule it makes me smile if it’s all jam packed.

Even I can admit that the last ten days have been insane! I’ve had two photo sessions to edit, breakfast duty for Sunday School, my family came to visit, I taught 6 year olds in VBS this entire week, hosted friends at our house for dinner one night and attended an awards banquet with Hubster. I haven’t even been to the pool. It’s been that busy.

I think I’ve learned my lesson this time. (I always say that about my One More Thing Syndrome). But this time I really mean it. I will cut back on my obligations, not take on any new obligations, try to do better from now on. We’ll see!

2 Responses

  1. Right there with you. You can go into remission, but I don’t think there’s a cure for the OMT. Sorry.
    :)

  2. I’m been guilty of this with work at times and picking up trips. I once realized that in a 6 day period I had been to 2 different countries and 17 different major American cities.

    But for me, I’ll have an episode like this and then the disease cures itself for a while. It burns you out, then you recover…..and then you do it again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

