• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    November 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

“You went to that blogging conference and then stopped blogging.”

It’s true.

I was so excited about the trip to Chicago and the chance to meet bloggers in real life. I talked about it non-stop for a few months. I saved up all of my money. My cousin and I had great plans for fun times. Then about two months before the blogging conference FINALLY arrived, I talked my Hubs into letting me launch a photography business. On a dream and a prayer, we built a little website. By the time July arrived, my little photography business had taken off! I was already raising my prices because I didn’t have time to take on so many sessions. I’d overbooked myself and was desperately trying to churn out edited photos in time for the next client. My trip to Chicago turned into a business trip as I booked lessons on photography and met a friend for headshots in the park. It was wild and exciting but also draining.

DSC_0632

Then in August school started. I cut my schedule back and I picked up new tricks for streamlining the editing process, but still I was working almost every evening after school on a shoot or editing. Life seemed full and hectic. Hubster says I had a shorter temper than usual. I was obviously strained.

DSC_0346

My load lightened a little in September as I cleared room for Bri’s birthday. Things weren’t so overwhelmingly busy anymore. In October I started to feel major burn out with school. There are so many perks to working from home and my expectations for my job had been unrealistically high. I thought that all of my problems with teaching were due to the inner city school system. When I moved to my new job, I’d expected the kids to be perfect and the paperwork to be lighter. The kids, while much better, are still in fact kids. We won’t even start talking about the paperwork.

So that’s what has happened. The photography business has consumed all of my free time. I love taking pictures and seeing the final results! It’s been quite an adventure.

Leave a Reply

