• ~Psalm 46:4-5~

    There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.
  • Drop Me a Line

    cindystreams @ gmail.com
  • Archives

    November 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Care to Comment?

    Please don't hesitate. I love to read your feedback. "You may be a stranger but you're not a stalker."
  • Find A Specific Date

photog gear

I’ve been building my equipment base over the last six months by reinvesting my earnings. This week I won a bid on ebay for a 50mm f1.8 lens. And last night, Hubs and I sat around playing with all of my toys. It was lots of fun. He didn’t realize that I have four lenses now! I guess I’m moving up in the world.

DSC_0411

 

My new lens lets me control the depth of field so precisely that I can focus on Bri’s bangs and her face will be blurry. How crazy is that?

DSC_0420

 

I can also focus on Bri and her Daddy can be blurry in the background. She thinks it’s really fun to put the flashlight inside her mouth. A few minutes before this picture she was doing this in front of the mirror.

DSC_0410

This new lens is a little bit more difficult to use than my usual partner in crime. It doesn’t have an internal motor, so I have to do a lot of my focusing by hand. When you’re shooting little kids, it’s really nice to be able to let the camera do all of the focusing for you. By the time you focus on them yourself, they’ve already moved away!

But I am totally in love with the way it creates a nice blurry background. You probably didn’t even notice the vacuum cleaner behind Bri in the picture above. I’ll be able to use this little lens for indoor shoots without worrying about busy background from normal house clutter. It’s going to be perfect for the newborn shoot I have next week! Yay!

DSC_0452

2 Responses

  1. You must be shooting with a D40 or D60, then? Same as me. (I could dig into your flickr stream, but really, who has the time!?) :)

    Honestly, I love the nifty-fifty, but sometimes with moving targets ( =kids) and self portraits, it’s a terrible hassle. I’m considering buying a used D80 just to get that internal motor. Mainly because the D300 or the D700 (swoon) are way out of my league. Just my thoughts on the matter. Enjoy your bokeh!

    • Hey Mike! It’s good to hear from you. The seven days group is definitely the main reason I update Flickr. :o) I do have a D60 and I am dying for a camera body that will have the internal motor and master some slave flashes. How fabulous would that be? I’m itching to take on wedding clients but I need a little bit more in the way of equipment before I’d be comfortable in any situation.

      I’ll be seeing y’all again soon. I wonder when the December seven days run will begin. I should check on that! ~Cindy~

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

